Thanks to everyone who showed up at the business meeting and the reception following. It was great to renew old friendships and to meet new members. The minutes of the meeting are outlined below. Sean Byrne, PSS Chair

1. The new committee members are to be elected over the next couple of weeks. Individuals interested in being on the Executive Committee must email a brief bio to Marie Olson, Nominating Committee Chair ( Marie will then email the list of candidates to the members to elect the three new members to the committee.

2. July 31, 2003 budget is $8, 381.17.

3. Jessica Senehi has passed the Newsletter baton to Wendy Lambourne, University of Sydney and Cynthia Irvin, RTI. Jessica has edited the Newsletter since 2001. She raised the concern that it is difficult to get information from the Newsletter because there are so few replies when emails requesting contributions to the newsletter are sent out. Jessica and Marie will forward the draft of the Newsletter to Cynthia and Wendy to send to the members.

4. Volker Franke is willing to continue as Website Master. He raised the concern that the website is rarely used by its members and encouraged members to make use of this resource. For example, sending job advertisements to the website as well as using the chatroom function to dialogue on specific issues in the field.

5. PSS members were appreciative of Siobhan McEvoy's excellent work as Program Chair 2004-05. Siobhan put together 50 PSS panels, a remarkable achievement. Thania Paffenholz volunteered to be the Program Chair for the 2005-06 San Diego conference. Siobhan is mentoring Thania into the position.

6. Marie Olson (Chair), Siobhan McEvoy, and Dan Wessner agreed to serve on the Nomination Committee for 2005-06. Three new members and a new Chair need to be elected by January 2006 to take their offices by February 2006.

7. For the 2006 conference program, Siobhan encouraged members to submit entire panels with 4-5 papers. It is very difficult for the chair to organize panels around single paper submissions. Please volunteer to be a discussant on a panel. For this conference, there were 50 PSS panels that were cosponsored with 10 other sections.

8. Carolyn Stephenson has a set up a system to streamline papers submitted for the Boulding Award. Carolyn suggested that professors need to nominate their students who are presenting papers otherwise it is impossible to discern which student papers from PhD papers.

9. Janie Leatherman was not present to outline issues from the Governing Council ISA Meeting.

10. Issues from the Floor
The following possibilities were suggested as possible themes for the 2006 conference. Please get your panel themes to Thania Paffenholz as soon as you can.

1. Careers in Peace Studies: How to Make a Living and Change the World
2. Nexus Between PPS and Security Studies: Theory and Practice
3. What went Wrong with the Theories of Conflict Resolution in Practice?
4. The Relevance of Peace Studies to Policymakers
5. Democracy in Post Conflict Societies
6. Canadian and U.S. Peacemaking: Radical Differences or Close Similarities?
7. Intervention and Conflict Dynamics: Feminist Perspectives
8. Grassroots Movements: Theory and Practice
9. Peace and Violence in Conflict Settings: A Practitioners Perspective
10. Humanities and Arts in Conflict Transformation: The Critical Human Art of Peacemaking
11. Historical Memory: Witnessing in War Crimes
12. Peace Studies and Active Service Learning
13. Peace Studies and IT Active Learning
14. Show Common Ground film and have a roundtable discussion
15. Roundtable: Designing a Department of Peace--invitation to General Dallaire and Dennis Kusenach to be two of the panelists
16. Peace and democracy.
17. Ethnic conflict analysis, resolution and peacebuilding

11. Professor Dennis Sandole congratulated Jessica Senehi and Sean Byrne on getting their proposed PhD program in Peace and conflict Studies through the Senate at the University of Manitoba. The proposed program is poised to be the first PhD program in the field in Canada.

The meeting was adjourned.