Department of Mathematics
and Computer Science



  » Programs
  » Courses
  » KME
  » Spicer Award
  » Mathematica
  » Graduates

Computer Science
  » Introduction
  » Programs
  » Courses
  » Seniors

  » Putnam - Cross
  » Duren Exam
  » Monthly Problem

Jobs Outlook




William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition

The Putnam Competition is an annual mathematics competition for undergraduate college students of the United States and Canada. The exam has been offered annually since 1938 and is administered by the Mathematical Association of America.

David Brian Cross Memorial Award

The award commemorates the mathematical achievments of David Cross, Western Maryland College Class of 1981, whose work and high standards in mathematics courses and problem solving serve as a model of excellence. This award is given annually to the McDaniel College student who attains the highest significant score on the William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition.

The winners of the award are: Stephen Hardy (2010), David Grimes (2009), Fenghao Wang (2008), Jai Dhyani (2005), Joseph Geiman (2004), David Profili (2002, 2001), Christopher Drupieski (2001), Paul Luse (1998), Melissa Meehan (1996), Kathleen Gaston (1994), Bin Jing (1993), Jay Taylor (1992, 1991, 1990), Daniel Seabold (1988, 1986), Christopher Conklin (1987), Stephan Coffman (1985, 1983), Wende Reeser (1984)


Lewis Hall of Science 114, McDaniel College, Westminster, Maryland 21157-4390; Phone: 410-857-2470, Fax: 410-386-4624.